Image

May: Wild Flowers – Wales

Yellow gorse and purple heather, Wales

Yellow gorse and purple heather, Wales

I took these photos in August 2009, just a few weeks before I left the UK (for the second time!) to return to Australia. I had joined my relatives (my father is from Manchester) for a week on their annual family holiday in Wales. My cousin’s husband and I, both keen walkers, had some marvellous walks along stunning paths — though not, it must be admitted, in stunning weather! Summer in Wales bears little resemblance to summer in Australia. What Wales lacks in sunshine, however, it more than makes up for in scenery and wild flowers.

Yellow gorse and purple heather, Wales

An entire hill of yellow gorse and purple heather, Wales

8 thoughts on “May: Wild Flowers – Wales

  1. Wales is a gorgeous country. We had considered moving there as it has stunning landscapes and beaches too, but sadly lacking in amenities and transport links in many places. Besides I don’t speak Welsh. I haven’t been here in Cornwall in the summer so I am really looking forward to seeing the heather. But at the moment everywhere is awash with colour from all the spring flowers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

