Muted Colors: orange gladioli and yellow cosmos

Gladioli and cosmos, Gore Hill Cemetery

Gladioli and cosmos, Gore Hill Cemetery

For my entry in A Photo a Week Challenge: Muted Colors, I’ve gone with a photo I took at Gore Hill Cemetery in the Sydney suburb of St Leonards. I worked in that area for a few years and the old cemetery was a favourite retreat at lunch time, peaceful and quiet, with paths to meander along and benches in the shade.

In this photo, I like how the muting treatment draws the viewer’s eye to the oranges and yellows of the flowers.

(Taken at: Sydney)

17 thoughts on “Muted Colors: orange gladioli and yellow cosmos

  1. I’d guess them to be cosmos, Kaz … I too have photos from here; but they’re not a lot like this little beauty … they’re some of Chic’s publicity stills from “Stone”.

    Like

  2. I think M-R is right – Cosmos sulphurous – I noticed these all over the Sydney area and along the railway track in the blue mountains. Cheery flowers that seem to grow wild everywhere!

    Like

Leave a Reply

